Council of the European union

Under the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union (TFEU), the Council and the European Parliament jointly decide on the rules of the common agricultural policy (CAP) in accordance with the codecision procedure. The decisions are based on proposals made by the Commission. The Council consists of Member State ministers, and it meets in ten different configurations depending on the subject being discussed.

The ministers of agriculture and fisheries meet in the Agriculture and Fisheries Council (AGRIFISH) on average once a month. The meetings are held in Brussels, except in April, June and October when they take place in Luxembourg. The Council takes its decisions by qualified majority, in codecision with the European Parliament.


Related links:

Council of the European Union website