Rural Development Unit

The task of the Rural Development Unit is to promote the viability and renewal of the rural areas, economic conditions and competitiveness of business activities, action based on local self-initiative and care for the environment through measures under the EU part-funded Rural Development Programme and national action. 

E-mail addresses are in the form [email protected]

Vesanto Taina
Head of Unit
tel. +358 2951 62405

Julkunen Viljami
Administrative Assistant
tel. +358 2951 62043

Kiikkala Meri
Senior Specialist
tel. +358 2951 62042

Repo Mia
Event Coordinator
tel. +358 2951 62201

Coordination of the Rural Development Programme

Loikkanen Eeva
Senior Specialist
animal welfare
tel. +358 2951 62015

Malm Tiina
Ministerial Adviser,
environment, animal welfare
tel. +358 2951 62428  

Pehkonen Eero
Senior Officer
tel. +358 2951 62217

Tapio-Biström Marja-Liisa
Ministerial Adviser
Climate and environmental impacts of the rural program
tel. +358 2951 62400

Terho Virva 
Rural Economist
tel. +358 2951 62141

Regional development

Anttila Leena
Ministerial Adviser
technical assistance, international projects, Baltic Sea, EIP
tel. +358 2951 62240

Auri Elina
Chief Specialist
island policy
tel. +328 2951 62066

Husberg Antonia
Senior Rural Officer
Rural Policy Council (MANE)
tel. 02951 62033

Jänis Laura
Senior Rural Officer
Leader, local development, regional policy
tel. 02951 62090

Kalliokoski Juuso
Chief Specialist
enterprise support
tel. 358 2951 62470  

Karjalainen Sirpa
Ministerial Adviser
promotion of bioeconomy, especially in agriculture and rural industries, cooperation in innovation
tel. +358 2951 2103

Selkäinaho Marianne
Senior Agricultural Officer
project support
tel. +358 2951 62218

Sihvola Auli
Senior Specialist
rural policy
tel. +358 2951 62442

Sihvola Sanna
Ministerial Adviser
regional development, steering of Centres for Economic Development, Transport and the Environment
tel. +358 2951 62264

Åström Christell
Ministerial Adviser
rural policy
tel. +358 2951 62030

Karlsson Joel
Senior Specialist
Risk management in agriculture and rural enterprises. Operating and financial plan. Budget preparation.
tel. +358 2951 62019

Rural structures

Hellstedt Maarit
Project manager
agricultural buildings and technologies
p. 02951 62083

Juvonen Esko
Agricultural Counsellor
structural support
p. 02951 62271

Koivumäki Sanna
Senior Agricultural Officer
tel. +358 2951 62437

Meurasalo Saara
Senior Officer
tel. +358 2951 62035

Schulman Anna
Senior Officer
tel.  +358 2951 62199

Further information

Taina Vesanto, Senior Ministerial Adviser 
Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry, Ruokaosasto, Maaseudun kehittämisyksikkö Agriculture and Fisheries Council  0295162405