Each EU Member State holds the presidency of the Council for six months at a time. The country holding the presidency prepares Council meetings and preparatory meetings (meetings of the working parties and the Special Committee on Agriculture) together with the Commission and the Council Secretariat. The presidency also chairs the meetings at every level. At the beginning of 2007, a new system was introduced: Member States holding the presidency work together in groups of three, having more freedom to decide on meeting arrangements.

From 1 July to 31 December 2015, the rotating presidency is held by Luxemburg.

Future presidencies:

2016 Netherlands, Slovakia

2017 Malta, United Kingdom

2018 Estonia, Bulgaria

2019 Austria, Romania

2020 Finland, Germany


Related links

The Luxemburg Presidency website