Regional northern cooperation

The Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry actively participates in the work of northern cooperation organisations.  The sustainable use of renewable resources and adaptation to climate change are key themes in the collaboration with other northern countries and regions.

Nordic Council of Ministers

Nordic cooperation involves Finland, Sweden, Norway, Denmark and Iceland as well as the self-governing territories Åland Islands, Faeroe Islands and Greenland. The countries collaborate within the Nordic Council, the Nordic Council of Ministers and in over 30 Nordic institutions.

Established in 1971, the Nordic Council of Ministers is an intergovernmental body for cooperation. The prime ministers hold overall responsibility, but in practice the responsibility has been assumed by the Ministers for Nordic Co-operation and the Nordic Committee for Co-operation (NSK).

The Nordic Council of Ministers comprises several councils of ministers. The Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry participates in the Nordic Council of Ministers for Fisheries and Aquaculture, Agriculture, Foodstuffs and Forestry (MR-FJLS). The Issues discussed are prepared and monitored by Committees of Senior Officials, consisting of national government officials. The Nordic Council of Ministers is assisted by the Secretariat operating in Copenhagen.

The Presidency of the Council of Ministers rotates among the five Nordic countries and is held for one year at a time. Finland will hold the Presidency in 2016.

Further information:
Ms Aulikki Hulmi, Director, International Affairs, tel. +35 295 162 113 [email protected]

Useful external website
Nordic Council of Ministers